Skip to content

A neuroanatomist’s journey through an episode of stroke

November 9, 2009

Jill&Brainontheglass

How it feels to have a stroke: An experience of a brain scientist

My colleague Dr. Taylor’s  precious and unique story

Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor is a Harvard-trained and published neuroanatomist who experienced a severe hemorrhage in the left hemisphere of her brain in 1996. On the afternoon of this rare form of stroke (Arteriovenous malformations;AVM), she could not walk, talk, read, write, or recall any of her life. It took eight years for Dr. Jill to completely recover all of her functions and thinking ability. She is the author of the New York Times bestselling memoir My Stroke of Insight: A Brain Scientist’s Personal Journey (published in 2008 by Viking Penguin) and was chosen as one of TIME Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People in the World for 2008.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. dvora24 permalink
    November 13, 2009 6:41 pm

    That was amazing. It’s interesting, I always thought that some Schizoaffective Disorder symptoms were like a stroke victim’s. See, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schizoaffective_disorder.

    Devorah

  2. sensit permalink
    January 17, 2010 12:14 pm

    You may find it interesting to read Buddhism-influenced review of My Stroke of Insight by Dr Jill Bolte Taylor

    http://sensit.wordpress.com/2009/12/13/my-stroke-of-insight-by-jill-bolte-taylor/

  3. January 17, 2010 3:03 pm

    Thanks for letting me know about your blog and entry sensit! I did enjoy it. I have read it right away and will read it again later. I always enjoy to read comparisons of approaches to neuroscience related issues between Western culture and Eastern teachings. I think she found the fountain to make money,and that is sort of how I see things. About the terminology; I think that is how she can interpret her experience, what I caught my interes as a neuroanatomist.I would like to discuss all these further with you.
    Peace
    Kaan

Trackbacks

  1. A review of my blogs « kaan's dervish lodge

Leave a Reply

